BOOK HAUL!!

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.” – Stephen King.

Okay, so even though I’m constantly moaning about how poor I am, I can never turn down cheap books!! The Works in my town is closing down for refurbishment so they’re having a massive sale! So of course I had to have a ponder inside and see what they had on offer! Keep in mind that it could have been a lot worse!!

First I picked up Flawless by Sara Shepard which is the second book in the Pretty Little Liars series, and although I haven’t read the first one, it was only a pound and I’ve wanted to start the series since forever, so thought maybe having one of the books would encourage me to buy the rest and read them!

The next is The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King. From what I can gather this is historical fiction, and is usually really not my cup of tea, but it sounded like such an interesting plot that I had to get it. I don’t know much about this series but I’m hoping that I won’t have to had read the rest of it to understand this book, if you’ve read this series why not let me know if its worth reading the rest of the books before this one or not? 🙂

Then I saw Sasha Grey’s The Juliette Society which is a book I’ve wanted to pick up since I saw it when it first came out but just never got round to it. While being a very controversial subject matter, it does grab my attention, definitely more so than 50 Shades, I’m hoping that this book has been written in a more elegant way, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Next, I picked up Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne, which I’ve seen quite a lot of people in the BookTube community talk about and I think the plot sounds fantastic, and I’m really hoping the book delivers.

When I saw The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach I knew I just had to have it! It is a book that has been on my wish list for years but was forever being buried under the new round of books I decided I ‘needed’. So when it was just sitting there, the final copy on the shelf, I took it as fate and had to buy it.

And finally, I found a ‘classic’ that I’ve never considered reading as I didn’t really think it was my type of book, but after recently seeing the two films (don’t kill me, I know I was late!) I thought that in actual fact, it would be interesting to see how the book compared to the films. So, I nabbed Bridget Jone’s Diary by Helen Fielding as soon as my eyes read the cover. I actually am very excited to read this book. After being bummed down with the amount of reading I’ve had to do for my course, I thought this would be a lovely change of pace, so after much deliberation, I’ve decided that this will be the first book I read from the little collection I bagged today!

However if you know me, which you probably don’t, my mind changes as often as the weather in regards to which book I’m going to read. But I have made a promise to myself that I’m definitely going to read more, so regardless I shall be reading one very shortly, which means hopefully there will be a review up on one of the books I brought today!

2 thoughts on “BOOK HAUL!!

  1. Ah, those The Works sales are dangerous! Not sure if knowing about this is good for me or not! And have you seen the new Healthy Planet free bokshop on the High Street? I haven’t been in the Leicester one yet, but I visited one in Worcester and love the idea of saving all those books from landfill.

    • Haha, I know, it took a lot of will power to leave the shop with only the books I did!! Ah, no I haven’t! Thats such an amazing idea! I will definitely have to check it out, thats for letting me know!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

