Looking For Alaska – John Green: A Review (Possible Spoilers!)

“Thomas Edison’s last words were, “It’s very beautiful over there.” I don’t know where there is, but I know it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.” – Miles Halter, Looking For Alaska. 

‘Looking For Alaska’ is Green’s first novel that was released in 2005, and is about a boy called Miles ‘Pudge’ Halter who doesn’t feel his life has had a real purpose until he moves to a boarding school in Alabama and meets Alaska Young. Alaska Young is a very free spirit, who really does as she pleases, she helps the people around her feel at ease and as though they are a part of something. She is a very likeable character and as a reader I felt as though I could relate to Alaska which I think helps us to sympathise with her.

Green is very clever in the way he sets out the novel with a ‘before’ and ‘after’ section, each doing a different job which is done perfectly. ‘Before’ shows us the transition from the Miles who has not very much  going for him and slowly, with the help of Alaska,  becoming a person he is much more happy with and feeling as though he has a sort of purpose. ‘After’ shows us how Miles ends up coping with the death of someone close to him and in doing this allows him to discover the answers to some questions he didn’t think he would get answers for.

This book as a whole is a fantastic read and is so unbelievably relatable, I found myself having to take a step back on more than one occasion to take a deep breath and remind myself which reality I was living in. This novel is hard hitting as well as heart warming and I think John Green does a brilliant job of portraying both sides in such a way they blend perfectly together.

Definitely pick it up if you haven’t yet, you won’t be disappointed and if you are, I’m sorry, I was wrong!

“I felt the heaves of his chest as we realised over and over again that we were still alive. I realised in waves and we held on to each other crying and i thought, God we must look so lame, but it doesn’t matter when you have just now realised, all the time late, that you are still alive.” – Miles Halter, Looking For Alaska. 

Leave a Reply

