The Very Great Gatsby.

‘No amount of fire or freshness can challenge what a man will store up in his ghostly heart’ – Nick Carraway.

‘The Great Gatsby’ has obviously gained much attention in these past few months, probably because it deserves it, however as I have yet to bring myself to see it, I am, as Nick would say perhaps ‘reserving judgement’ to an extent. After studying ‘Gatsby’ last year as part of my AS English course, I bitterly hated it and all it stood for and represented. But, a much more wiser version of myself decided to read it again after watching John Greens video on it. (If you want to watch it – Click here!)

To my amazement, I found myself falling unmistakably more in love with the novel with each page I turned. With so much powerful emotions running through the course of the book, I found myself laughing along with Daisy, spectating with the party guests and crying at Nicks ending. (Spoiler – Gatsby dies!) For those who don’t know ‘Gatsby’ is written from Nick Carraway’s point of view, while I’ve heard in endless conversations and reviews that ‘Nick annoys them to no end’, I on the other hand, found myself in Nick in regards to Gatsby, as much as I was supposedly supposed to find Gatsby as every bit as trivial as the party guests did or be every bit as skeptical as Tom, I found myself sympathizing with Gatsby in ways I hadn’t previously before. Gatsby is a being so unbelievably powered by love, he builds his life around what he feels the love of his life will enjoy years later after she last saw him and in fact married. Gatsby is so blinded by this ‘green light’ of hope, this ‘green light’ he so much believes in, he takes the fall for his love which in turn results in his death. This in so many ways makes us view Gatsby as a tragic figure, but I believe it in fact simply makes him ‘Great’. Gatsby wasn’t tragic, because he had love and it was with this love that did unfortunately lead to his demise. But Gatsby had hope, something that the people reading Fitzgerald’s books in the years that followed, may sometimes have failed to find, a main example being the people of the Great Depression to which ‘Gatsby’ reads almost like a prophecy.

What has this to do with the movie, I hear you say? Well, as stated, I haven’t in fact see it yet, however my worries comes from the trailers that I have seen. In the snippets I’ve seen, albeit a few, it seems to focus so solely on Daisy and Gatsby’s relationship and although it may be seen that this is the main storyline behind the entire book and thus the film, I to the contrary believe it is Gatsby’s burning love for Daisy, just like that burning ‘green light’ of hope, that is the real storyline and lesson portrayed in the book and thus should be how the film tell the story. While I commend the amazing soundtrack and the amazing cast, because really, they couldn’t have done better, I do worry that the true message of Gatsby’s undying love for Daisy and him dying for her, in turn showing said undying love will not be portrayed enough throughout the film. It is perhaps too much glitz and glamour that has been portrayed in the trailers that has given this impression, that being said, it is the same glitz and glamour that has made me dubious about seeing the film in its entirety. (For the trailer – Click here!)

For people who haven’t read the book, I hope they will after seeing the film and to those that have, I hope it does not disappoint. However, all I really want, is for people to see that in someways perhaps, Gatsby really was great.

 

2 thoughts on “The Very Great Gatsby.

  1. Pingback: Relentless Bombardment – Part III: The Great Gatsby – Superheroes & Explosions | FrontRowGeek

  2. Pingback: TLC Book Review: Indiscretion by Charles Dubrow | Books in the Burbs

Leave a Reply

